THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #3

“I will take my own reusable bag for all shopping purposes.”

Paper or plastic? Neither! At this point it’s safe to say that many of us have already trained ourselves to take reusable shopping bags to the grocery store or farmer’s market. How many of us make that same effort when shopping for clothing, housewares or tools? Personally speaking, I’ve gotten into the habit of sporting a large carryall wherever I go.

So far this year, Americans have used close to 15 million plastic shopping bags. On average, an American consumer uses 300 to 700 plastic shopping bags per year. To date 3,052 Kanu Hawai`i members, including myself, have committed to this lifestyle change and will save our planet from having to deal with up to 2,136,400 landfilled bags. It just makes sense.

What do you do if you find yourself in possession of a non-reusable, plasitc shopping bag? I recycle it. I know a few days ago I said to reduce, reuse and then recycle. Well, plastic bags are one of those things that I send straight to the mixed recycling bin. Plastic doesn’t ever biodegrade, when left to Nature’s forces it simply breaks down into smaller though equally toxic pieces of itself. I find that sending it back into the production cycle gives it a chance to live again and gives me peace of mind knowing that it will not pollute our land and water.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

