THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #4

“I will not use paper towels.”

Like many convenience based single-use products, paper towels are wasteful. Personally speaking, I can’t remember the last time I bought a roll. The need for them at home never seems to present itself. However, for some time now I’ve been trying to train myself to not use them while at work. In the restroom at my office post-consumer recycled content paper towels sit orderly in a basket just waiting to be used once you’ve washed your hands. On several occasions I’ve tried not using anything which didn’t really work once I got back to my keyboard. Recently, I brought a small hand towel from home and set it in my desk drawer. It works great when I actually remember to take it to the restroom with me. Just another little thing to work on I suppose. Like when you first start trying to use a reusable grocery bag. The first couple times you forget it at home, then you forget it in the car, but eventually you remember to bring it into the store and those moments at the check stand are truly victorious.

Consumption of paper towels and other tissue products is highest in the U.S., with consumption 50% higher than in Europe and nearly 500% higher than in Latin America. Sure, paper towels are convenient and are now available in more “eco friendly” forms, but they’re not practical because they are disposable and wasteful. If you ever do find yourself in desperate need of a roll, please make sure the one you purchase is made from recycled paper pulp and was never bleached (isn’t white). Also, the next time you find yourself in a public restroom having to choose between paper towels or a dryer, always go for the dryer first (or just wipe your hands on your pants).

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

1 Comment»

  Nicole wrote @

This is a great idea especially for work. I will have to bring a towel in tomorrow.


Leave a Reply

