THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #5

“I will check my tire pressure once a month.”

Just recently my mom’s been having trouble keeping one of her tires properly inflated. We suspect there’s a tiny leak somewhere and that the tire will need to be patched or replaced. While inflating her tire at the gas station one day I started to wonder how this issue must be affecting her fuel efficiency. When was the last time I checked my tire pressure, I wondered. Then decided to set myself a reminder in my iCal calendar. Once a month, which is about every other time I fill gas, I will check to see that my tires are properly inflated. This little task helps to maximize your fuel economy and keeps you safe by making sure that your tires are always operating at peak performance.

Planet Green states, “If every American’s tires were properly inflated, we could save around 2 billion gallons of gas each year!” They also say that you can increase your miles per gallon by 25% just by keeping up on the maintenance of your vehicle. Including regular oil changes, air-filter changes and spark plug replacements. When doing oil changes, making sure you’re using the right kind of oil (check your owner’s manual) can increase your fuel economy another 1%-2%. Conversely, if you drive aggressively you could be burning up to 5% more fuel. Driving around with lots of junk in your trunk or racks filled with stuff on your roof is also a downer on your fuel efficiency.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

