THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #6

“I will use a reusable menstrual cup.”

It’s that time of the month again (Guys, you can stop reading here.) and it’s reminded me of a lifestyle change I made a while ago, but only recently shared with a close friend. When I start to describe “The Test” portion of this project to people — how I’m going to live for 171 days as if the boats stopped coming to Hawai`i — I get a variety of standard reactions. Some ask, “What you going do about rice and toilet papah?” Others, like my dear friend Kristi, ask more personal things like “What about pads or tampons?” When I told Kristi not to worry because I had it covered, she gave me this confused look and wanted to know what I meant by “have it covered.” That’s when I had to tell her about my DivaCup.

The DivaCup is a latex-free, BPA-free, reusable, silicone menstrual cup. Each year American women toss out about 13.5 billion sanitary pads and 6.5 billion tampons. That’s 20 billion pieces of feminine hygiene trash dumped into the North American environment annually. Between 1998 and 1999 more than 170,000 tampon applicators were collected along U.S. coastal areas alone. Ladies, seriously? Besides, it’s not like pads or tampons are even more convenient. You’ve gotta worry about what shape, size and absorbancy to buy. Plus, you’re always worrying about leaks and discretely carrying around extras for backup. With a reusable menstrual cup you put it in in the morning and forget about it. Take it out at night, rinse it, put it back in and forget about it until the next morning. They don’t leak, they don’t hurt and they don’t show. I’ll admit, it takes a little time and practice getting used to the whole ritual, but your patience will be rewarded and you’ll be healthier too! Most pads and tampons contain surfactants, adhesives and additives. And unless you’re buying organic cotton, unbleached feminine products you are likely exposing yourself to pesticides (used on non-organic cotton crops) and carcinogenic dioxin (a by-product of the bleaching process). Another bonus, by switching you’ll save money.

Join me (ladies) in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

3 Comments»

  Kristi wrote @

I made the blog! This is so cool! You are such an inspiration for us all to make changes. I’m with you on this one: I will ALSO use a reusable menstrual cup. 🙂 If it wasn’t for you my dear friend, I wouldn’t be as educated as I am today. I love you and your dedication to make our world a better place.

  Nicole wrote @

Wow. Thats amazing. Sounds like something I need to try.

  M. wrote @

I’m with you! I switched to a DivaCup in summer ’08 & though I have to supplement my heavier days with washable fabric pads, I love it! On my lighter days I completely forget I even have it in. Begone worry of Toxic Shock Syndrome! Begone guilt about plastic consumption and trash littering our water and cluttering our landfills. Plus, no smelly trash in the bathroom once a month!


Leave a Reply

