THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #7

“I will make use of the surplus food grown by myself, friends and family.”

While paying my rent at Ginoza Realty, Inc. in Hilo yesterday, I noticed a tangerine tree next door loaded with fruit. Now, when I say loaded, I mean the tree was more tangerine-colored than green because the fruit far outnumbered the leaves. What really inspired me to make this commitment though, was the fact that sitting under the tree was a small, blue pickup truck piled high with branches which had been trimmed earlier that day, tangerines still attached! There had to be at least 50 pounds of fruit going to waste there. That being said, this is a scene that I come across all to often in my community. As locals, many of us head to the supermarket to pick up apples, pears and potatoes when tangerines, mangoes and ulu are falling from the sky.

What I’ve decided to do then, is start a backyard garden exchange amongst family and friends. I will start by listing those who wish to participate and what fresh foods they have in surplus. Then, we will decide on a day to meet and exchange what we’ve got. If at the end of the swap we still have food, we’ll donate it to a local food bank or shelter. Stay tuned for updates on how this works out.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

