THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #8

“I will switch to rechargeable batteries.”

Most of the electronics I own either power up through a plug in the wall or contain rechargeable batteries. My laptop, cell phone, digital camera. . . all fitted with rechargeables provided by their manufacturer. What doesn’t though, which I use every work day, is my wireless keyboard. About three times a year I have to swap out eight AA batteries. Add these to the occasional set of AAA or AA batteries from the various remotes sitting around my house and you have a small number of batteries that get recycled at the Puainako Street Longs Drugs electronics counter. Still, I can avoid this altogether by making the commitment to switch to rechargeable batteries.

Just like a reusable bag, reusable mug, reusable water bottle. . .  reusable batteries are better. Back in 2007, I wrote an article on the subject and was intrigued by the NoPoPo (No Pollution Power) option developed in Japan. This battery charges with almost any liquid out there, from water to sake or even urine! You just suck the liquid into a syringe and squeeze it into the battery. Another selling point, they contain no heavy metals. Back then NoPoPo batteries were only sold in Japan; to celebrate their availability elsewhere, I’m going to kick off this commitment with a new set of water-powered rechargeable batteries.

To find the eco-battery that best suits your needs, I recommend GreenBatteries as the one-stop shop for your rechargeable battery needs (except NoPoPo). If you have rechargeable batteries that are no longer good, check out Call2Recycle. They have free personal and corporate rechargeable battery recycling programs and their website has a nifty feature that helps you search for local drop locations using your zip code.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

