THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #11

“I will use a handkerchief.”

As the vog rolled in over Hilo this weekend, I found myself sniffling and sneezing throughout the days, inevitably using tissues like there was no tomorrow. I’ll be the first to admit that the idea of using a piece of cloth to wipe your nose, again and again, while stuffing it into your pocket in between is pretty gross. Still, the benefits are obvious and let’s face it, if the boats stopped shipping goods to Hawai`i facial tissues would not be at the top of my list of things to be missed.

Seventh Generation says, “If every household in the U.S. replaced just one box of 85-sheet virgin-fiber facial tissue with our 100% recycled ones, we could save 280,000 trees.” While there are eco-friendly facial tissues out there, not having to use them gets me another step closer to total self-sufficiency. For years I’ve stashed three Sig Zane Designs silk jacquard handkerchiefs. For what? I don’t know. For this moment, I guess. Upon first use, the silk makes my nose feel like royalty. Stay tuned for updates.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

1 Comment»

  M. wrote @

really like your blog and the simple, but through, explanation of the thinking behind each of your commitments.
I’m with you on the use of the hanky. I started using one myself late last year & was surprised that I hadn’t wanted to make the switch earlier. I think I associated the habit with my dad and just pictured his old crusty, gross-looking one. Being much cleaner than him and tossing the used ones in the hamper after a day or two, I’ve avoided becoming that person bringing out the gross cloths to wipe my face in public.
Just a word of caution, though: I have read that if you’re sick, you should use disposable tissues to prevent spreading your illness. Just remember to look for ones made from post-consumer recycled, non-chlorine bleached paper.


Leave a Reply

