THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #13

“I will participate in The Great American Apparel Diet.”

If you’ve been keeping up with these commitments (and, hopefully, joining in) you know that just prior to this commitment, I promised to trade, donate or upcycle my old clothing.  For the next 230 days I am going to take that a step farther by joining The Great American Apparel Diet.

No, I am not going to eat my old clothes, I am going to refrain from buying any new ones as part of a group of women describing themselves as ranging in age from “19 to 60,” who are “a creative, curious, sometimes hilarious and educated lot. . .  self employed, business owners, creative thinkers, writers, producers, executives, lawyers, PHDs, mothers, wives, stepmothers, recessionistas, fashionistas, snowboarders, yogis, students, grandmothers, knitters, sewers and social mavens” with this shared interest: We are all collectively reevaluating our habits, “shopping habits in particular.”

From now until August 31st, I, along with my fellow dieters, will not buy any new clothes. (Underwear being the only exception.)  The idea, as I understand it, is to appreciate what we already have and take a step away from the consumerism that drives the depletion of the world’s resources on what we figure is our single most tempting purchase, clothes.

The women who came up with the idea began last September and they are taking latecomers up until the end of January.  Click here for rules and instructions on how to join. You will need a picture and brief bio to get set up.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

