THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #21

“I will bring my own takeout container for meals on-the-go.”

Today, while I was clocking out to for my lunch break, a co-worker complimented the stainless steel lunch container I was carrying. That led us into a short exchange about how you can take your own container to fill at the Island Naturals hot deli table and salad bar. Tomoko inquired about the added weight of the stainless steel since Island Naturals charges by the pound for their prepared foods. The answer was a simple one — all you have to do is weigh in at one of the registers before you load up with food. Then, when you are checking out, the cashier subtracts the weight of the container, leaving you to pay only for the delicious morsels stashed inside.

It’s not something I think about doing anymore. Toting my Design Within Reach Tiffin Lunch Box into Island Naturals is, well, natural for me. Still, there are other takeout places which may be less familiar or accommodating. This commitment is designed to push me into the unknown, so I’ll use my own takeout container wherever lunch finds me. Besides, it’s a stylish accessory, one that gives me a chance to promote waste-free dining as it draws compliments.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

