THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #28

“I will make use of my public library.”

While searching for affordable ways to get my hands on a rather large collection of audiobooks, a co-worker had asked me if I tried the library. It had been such a long time since I’d last used the library (maybe grade school) that even the mention of it conjured images of dusty old paperbacks. Needless to say, I was surprised to hear that our Hilo public library had audiobooks and even more shocked when I learned you could download them from their website! Only problem was, I couldn’t remember my library card number much less locate the thing.

The next chance I get, I will go down to the library to renew my membership and get a new card (number). Supporting your local library system gets you much more than unlimited access to free resources. By sharing these books, audiobooks, magazines and movies we can effectively save all kinds of energy and raw materials. Let’s face it, once you’ve read a book or downloaded a CD to your computer, odds are you won’t use it again. Still, as I told Margaret and she agrees, cookbooks and coffee table books are a weakness. Sorry trees.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

