THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #30

“I will host a shoe drive to benefit the disaster victims in Haiti.”

There is no hiding from the reality of what the people of Haiti are going through. There also seems to be no end to the list of aide efforts being put on by individuals and organizations, regardless of stature and size. Huffington Post produced an impressive list though I doubt it covers everything. Most programs are hunting for monetary donations, but there are a handful which will take things like medical supplies, infant formula, flashlights and even old shoes.

A while back a family member, Patti, had put on a charitable shoe drive for lightly worn, athletic shoes. My old shoes never made it to the drop location in time and to this day, continue to haunt me from the corner of my closet. When I found out that Soles 4 Souls was collecting footwear to benefit those who are suffering in Haiti, I decided it was time to host a shoe drive and release my old sneakers from their prison. It might be a little late to contribute to the Soles 4 Souls goal of collecting 25,000 pairs of shoes for Haiti by March, 2010 so, I’m looking into working with Operation T.H.E.R.E. If you live in the Hilo area, please stay tuned for collection dates and information.  I would really appreciate your old shoes.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

