THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #38

“I will not let the water run while washing dishes.”

During a typical dishwashing session I gather the dishes around the sink, turn the faucet on and proceed to first wash, then rinse one dish at a time — allowing the water to run throughout the process. It is still unclear to me where I picked up such a wasteful habit. . . all the more mysterious since I never let the water run while I brush my teeth. In any case, I’ve been meaning to reprogram myself to be a more conservative dishwasher.

Some eco enthusiasts claim that hand-washing dishes wastes more water than using a dishwasher. Though they might have the test results to prove it, they often forget to factor in the environmental impacts of producing said machine along with the resources needed to operate it. However, there are things you can do to make utilizing your dishwasher a more environmentally friendly experience.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

