THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #40

“I will buy in bulk.”

We all know there can be tremendous savings in money when purchasing products in bulk; what you may not be thinking about as you make that bulk buy is your savings in packaging materials. Buying a liter-sized bottle of shampoo, for example, lessens demand for plastic as well as the energy it takes to make those extra bottles and ship them to you.

There are many items I already purchase in bulk, shampoo being one of them. Still, there’s more I could add to that list for extra savings. One thing I’ve been meaning to do for a while is train myself to utilize the bulk bins at my local Island Naturals market — which contain everything from organic dried fruits to pasta and hummus mix. Best part is, I can bring in my own containers and forego wasted packaging altogether.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

