THE ECO BOSS PROJECT

An experiment in conscious living.

Commitment #43

“I will reuse my plastic poke containers.”

If you’re a regular visitor to TheEcoBoss blogspot, you will remember “Poke-Poi Fridays.” This is the one day each week I sit with my two co-workers, Kuha`o and Haku, to enjoy a locally-sourced meal. While Kuha`o always brings the poi, made fresh from Waipi`o kalo and delivered to Hilo every Friday morning, Haku and I take turns getting the poke. The last time I went to Suisan Market, I asked the man behind the counter if he would refill plastic containers from a previous purchase. Sometimes I pity those who have to deal with my zero-waste obsession and other times I feel like I’m helping more than hurting. Either way, once he understood that I was NOT asking him to give another customer my used containers, he agreed, making this commitment an easy one to keep.

Sometimes you just have to get up the courage to ask.

Join me in making this lifestyle commitment at Kanu Hawai`i.

No comments yet»

Leave a Reply

